Home > General > Fedora 18 pulseaudio/ALSA and nvidia hdmi audio

Fedora 18 pulseaudio/ALSA and nvidia hdmi audio

Fedora 18 replaced my ALSA audio setup with pulseaudio. I managed to get the nvidia hdmi audio disabled, but I still had some issues when I used MythTV’s timestretch feature. The audio would start cracking and the video would also freeze every few frames.

So I decided to revert back to ALSA:
yum erase pulseaudio

This removed the following modules:
pulseaudio pulseaudio-module-gconf pulseaudio-module-bluetooth pulseaudio-esound-compat paprefs gnome-bluetooth bluez

The next problem was that my system was confused whether I wanted audio played through nvidia hdmi or my motherboard. In this case the motherboard is my option.

To fix this, I did “aplay -l” and took note of the card and device ids through which I wanted my audio. Then I put the audio device in /etc/asound.conf (make sure there are no overrides of this file in the user’s home directory):

pcm.!default {
type hw
card 0
device 0
}

Then I just set mythtv to use the correct ALSA device. After a restart, MythTV is now back to using ALSA audio again.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment